//
you're reading...
Life Musings

Stars, Stripes, and a Reprisal

Ahem… (**tap tap**) is this thing on?

I’m baaa-aack!

Recently, I was inspired to start writing again so I’m going to give this another go. I have a few ideas in store so look out, internet! Things are about to start happening in Lishy’s Kitchen again.

What better way to kick off a return to the blogosphere than with some extra summery photos? Last week my husband and I went to my Minnesotan homeland for lots of celebration and family time. Here is my photo essay for what I did on my summer vacation:

The first cherry tomatoes were out! These little guys became salad fodder.

The first cherry tomatoes were out! These little guys became salad fodder.

This cabbage became a mighty vinegar-based coleslaw for my Grandmother's 90th birthday party.

This cabbage became a mighty vinegar-based coleslaw for my Grandmother’s 90th birthday party.

I spent plenty of time in the kitchen. The great thing about being on vacation is putting your hair in a scarf and forgetting about it!

I spent plenty of time in the kitchen. The great thing about being on vacation is putting your hair in a scarf and forgetting about it!

While I did a lot of cooking for family (I love having lots of people to feed!) Cam and I managed to get out in the sun and enjoy some social time. On the evening of July 3 and through much of the 4th we accompanied my sister and her husband’s side to their annual parish/city festival, Joetown Rocks.  It’s quite a party for such a small town. I ran into a number of friends, acquaintances, and reconnected with those whom I have lost touch. It was a lovely time. There are a few things I enjoy more than a church bazaar, and the Catholics of central MN did not disappoint. I love embroidered tea towels–something on the order of these–specifically, I like embroidered towels of cats performing archetypical human activities. I found a package of 6 that had featured cats doing all manner of things from grocery shopping, to knitting, and ironing. Here is an example of what I mean. Unbelievable. It’s the only cat-themed kitsch I enjoy.

Parades are the quintessential July 4 activity. Here I am with my sister and nephews (one still in utero)

Parades are the quintessential July 4 activity. Here I am with my sister and nephews (one still in utero)

We whooped and hollered for my cousin's marching band--there she is in the middle with her saxophone!

We whooped and hollered for my cousin’s marching band–there she is in the middle of the picture with her saxophone!

My brother-in-law loves America and dressed the part.

My brother-in-law clearly loves America and dressed the part.

After the parade we headed to the church festival where much bingo was played on these neat vintage bingo cards!

After the parade we headed to the church festival where much bingo was played on these neat vintage bingo cards!

Once the festival died down and the afternoon got too hot, we grabbed our swimsuits and headed north to my Aunt’s lake cabin.

A little tranquility at the lake is also a welcome way to spend summer time

A little tranquility at the lake is also a welcome way to spend summer time — we headed north after the parade and festival.

…she has a lovely home on a large, clean lake. I also appreciate that she typically makes incredible food with very veggie-friendly options. There is something so satisfying about a good swim, fresh air, and sun followed by a hearty meal and a cool evening boat ride.

Almost anything is delicious when grilled. This was a lovely spread created by my aunt at the lake cabin.

Almost anything is delicious when grilled. This was a lovely spread created by my aunt at the lake cabin.

Summer = sweet corn. I take mine steamed and undressed.

Summer = sweet corn. I take mine steamed and undressed.

Finally, I must confess that I have a summertime guilty pleasure. About once a year, whenever I am in Minnesota for part of the summer, I need a trip to the Dairy Queen. Dairy Queens are ubiquitous. Like Sonic in the South or Culver’s in Wisconsin. The DQ is a small town MN summertime hangout for those who do not fall into the VFW/American Legion crowd.

So, here it is in all of its glory — my once a year summer treat: the noble soft serve ice cream cone:

I have one of these each summer: a vanilla cone with crunchy sprinkles from the Dairy Queen. So simple, so delicious, and I savored every nibble!

A vanilla cone with crunchy sprinkles from the Dairy Queen. So simple, so delicious, and I savored every nibble!

 

Ah, it’s good to be back. Enjoy all of your summer treats!

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

