//
you're reading...
Dessert, Life Musings, Recipe

Eat to run or run to eat?

As of January 14 I have 17.1 miles logged for my 2012 running goal. Only 482.9 left to go! For perspective, that’s about 1.38 miles per day for the rest of the year. Not too shabby! I know that I am going to have gaps of time when work gets out of hand or I have to travel, or get sick so I’m trying to bank my time now for when the going gets tough. I do not want to fall behind!

When I was living in New York a good friend of mine (hi, Joshie!) was getting into running around the same time I was. He would come over to my apartment about once a week and we would watch “Biggest Loser” together and I would cook dinner. It was awesome. However, we noticed that on the show there were regular references to how food is supposed to fuel our bodies and that we should think of it in those terms. Instead, Josh would joke that we run so that we can enjoy eating more. Maybe not the healthiest perspective on food, but it’s definitely one that makes me giggle from time to time.

That said, I’ve had a good couple of weeks. I have been trying hard not to give in to temptation and to keep my sweet tooth at bay. However, I cannot deny my sweet tooth. I am a sugar baby. I like a good dessert from time to time. I need me some chocolate and other goodies during the week. At the risk of sounding redundant: grapefruit ain’t dessert, kiddos.

However, that does not mean that I bury my face in a pile of pastries every week. Of course not! That’s what special occasions and emotional eating is for.

I try to handle dessert and sweets in a responsible way so that I can satisfy my sweet tooth without going crazy and undoing the good that I have done with my workouts and other meals and snacks. Food really should be thought of as the means by which we enjoy our lives, not the thing that hinders us from them. So, today I am going to share my favorite dessert recipe with you. It hits the spot every time!

Pudding for everyone!

Lishy’s Vegan Chocolate Pudding

What you’ll need:

1 12 oz pkg of organic silken tofu (such as mori-nu)

1/2 Cup vegan semisweet chocolate chips

4 Tbs agave nectar

1/3 cup dutch process cocoa powder

2 tsp vanilla extract

dash of salt

What you’ll do:

Melt chocolate chips in a double boiler. In the mean time, place remaining ingredients into a mixing bowl and blend thoroughly with an immersion blender or toss everything into a food processor with a metal blade and mix it until runs completely smooth. Add the freshly-melted chocolate chips and blend until everything is completely combined and the mixture again runs smooth. Pour evenly into small bowls or ramekins, refrigerate until set, approximately 1 hour.

This recipe has a great, rich chocolatey flavor, very little sugar and the tofu has plenty of protein so it satisfies. It is great for that unstoppable need for chocolate we all get from time to time and I would venture to guess that even the most committed omnivores would not be able to identify this as vegan. For added flavor, you could try making a Mexican chocolate pudding by adding 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper when you blend it for a spiced-chocolate taste.

Enjoy!

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

