//
you're reading...
Breakfast, Recipe, Uncategorized

Working from home and its discontents

I like to work from home on occasion because I feel more productive. I can’t help it. I’m in the sort of position where I work with a lot of student issues, administrative issues and have a hand in a number of matters. In other words, I work an inch deep and a mile wide most days.

However, there are projects that require a more intensive intellectual focus from me. These are the projects I save for work at home days. When my only interruptions are the occasional bathroom break for the dogs or a coffee refill, I tend to make more headway on my projects. I have major report due at the end of the week and have been getting bits and pieces complete in the office, but I really need a mostly uninterrupted day to push through.

Some people say that they are not effective when they work from home. I can see that, but one of the best pieces of advice I ever received about working from home is that one should always be sure to eat breakfast and get dressed before fully launching into the day lest you get too entrenched in work and by noon you’re feeling hungry, disgusting and resentful. This is no way to be.

My work from home rituals differ slightly from my regular days, but I have established a system. I always make a good breakfast and change into comfy clothes of some sort (e.g. yoga pants and a hoodie) and make sure that I am in a good working environment. Today I am in the sun-drenched alcove next to our kitchen and I made a breakfast that was a big hit!

On your next work from home day or lazy Saturday morning, these would be a great treat!

Now that's breakfast!

Banana-Rye Griddle Cakes

What you’ll need:

3 overripe bananas

1 Cup Milk

1/2 Cup Rye Flour

1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

1 tsp cinnamon

Pinch salt

1 Tbs Canola Oil

2 Tbs Agave Nectar

What you’ll do:

With an immersion blender, blend the milk and bananas. Mix in remaining wet ingredients. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Slowly fold flour mixture into the banana and milk mixture until fully combined.

Spoon the mixture onto a prepared griddle over medium heat, turning part way through like one would any other pancake. Plate and top with coarsely chopped walnuts and your favorite syrup!

I like using rye flour but one can use an entire cup of whole wheat flour or all purpose flour as a substitute. These are pretty filling and the recipe will make approximately 12 medium-sized pancakes.

Enjoy!

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

One thought on “Working from home and its discontents

  1. Hi this is a Great info i like this thanks

    Posted by thomas | October 15, 2011, 5:07 am

Leave a Reply

