//
you're reading...
Dessert, Recipe from another blog, Uncategorized

PIE!

My love of pie is no secret.

As of late, my husband and I have been seeking out fun and interesting pie flavors. Fall is pie season, after all, so it stands to reason that we would be making lots of crusted delights.

Today we are going to brunch at the home of some friends of ours and we are bringing a dessert, so of course we’re taking a pie. We are using a recipe I recently came across in 101 Cookbooks for a maple-buttermilk pie.

This is going to get destroyed.

I was most intrigued by this recipe because it seemed like a nice combination of sweet/sour/savory flavors and I am not certain that I have ever had a rye crust. It is basically like a maple-flavored custard pie. We haven’t tried it yet because it’s going to brunch a little later, but I anticipate that it will be delicious and have a custard-like consistency.

One modification that we made with the recipe is the buttermilk bit. I almost never buy buttermilk. Instead, I just mix apple cider vinegar or lemon juice with regular milk (or soy/almond milk) at a ratio of 1 Tbs per half cup. That’s what we did in this case. Plain 2% organic milk + cider vinegar.

I think it was a success, but we’ll see soon. I love making pies because they are always a community effort in our house. Cam makes the crust and I make the filling. It’s a delicious union, really.

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

2 thoughts on “PIE!

  1. so, how was it?

    Posted by Michele Kranz | October 19, 2011, 5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

