//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

…and we’re back!

After a week of pudding, sorbet and applesauce I think my post-surgery pain and lethargy has jumped the shark. I am getting back to normal. I’ve been sitting between 85%-90% for the past couple of days and I should be fully healed within the week. Relatively speaking, it was an uncomfortable experience, but I’m glad it’s done. I’ve spent the better part of the last two years getting sick, being sick or recovering from being sick. Hopefully I’ll be able to function more as a healthy adult now as opposed to a sickly kindergardener.

But what did I do on my hiatus from work, life and the kitchen?

Mostly, I slept and every three to four hours I had a little nosh and medication. During my few waking hours each day I indulged in my most recent TV obsession thanks to the power of live streaming on Netflix.

I was also able to catch up on some movie-watching including one of my favorite Rom-Coms of all time:

I also found myself checking into work and getting as much done remotely as I could–that is, after the pain meds wore off some.

I didn’t do much in the kitchen at all, though I had my mother here who is pretty amazing in that domain as well. I had all of the typical comforts of mom’s cooking–mac and cheese, potato soup and veggies to keep me satiated. She was amazing the whole time she was here. Getting me to the hospital and back in a city and vehicle with which she was wholly unfamiliar, making delicious food, regularly checking in on me, watching movies together and addressing all of the envelopes for our wedding invitations. Needless to say, I was sad to see her go! It was great having her here. She’s a champ.

She even got me the greatest get-well gift EVER:

The greatest cookie jar ever.

So now, it’s back to life per usual. I am planning to be back at work tomorrow and back in the classroom as well. Annie and Lulu and snuggled in next to me and we are bracing for another lashing of winter weather.

…before you know it, I’ll be back in the kitchen and posting recipes again.

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

