//
you're reading...
Food Information, Recipe, Snack

Pickled Grapes… say WHAT?!

In keeping with my food obsession and ongoing pursuit of domestic bliss, I squeal like a little girl whenever Cam and I are in the car and The Splendid Table comes on NPR. I mean, who wouldn’t love this show? Anyone who hates food and NPR, I suppose. But seriously, what’s not to love? The host, Lynne Rossetto Kasper, provides thoughtful, appropriate answers to any and all food and cooking-related questions–more importantly, she does it in a way that is not at all condescending or self-important. She engages with everyone in a warm, pleasant way–yet somehow still seems like a real person. A real person I would like to have over for dinner! In my opinion, Ms. Kasper is one of the more underrated NPR personalities on the air. Forget Car Talk! I want an unpretentious show about food that doesn’t take itself too seriously.

That said, I mentioned in my previous post that the latest issue of Vegetarian Times had a recipe for balsamic-roasted olives and grapes that I would like to try. It reminded me of a recipe that I heard about on The Splendid Table while covering some of the 9624789345204935.3 miles that Cam and I drove around the Midwest to visit family.

The recipe? Pickled grapes with rosemary and chiles. It sounds so odd that it might just be amazing! As the proud parent of a luscious rosemary plant, I am growing increasingly convinced that I need to try this strange and beautiful recipe in the very near future.

 

Anyone out the blogosphere who has tried this before? I feel like it’s either going to be a delightful treat or an experiment I’ll want to forget. I’m convincing myself that Lynne Rossetto Kasper would never steer me wrong, so it must be the former.

 

I guess only time will tell. Stay tuned for the picked grape adventure of 2011.

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

