//
you're reading...
Breakfast, Recipe, Snack

Can you tell me how to get, how to get some sesame treats?

I have a love obsession with a new coffee shop in my neighborhood. Not only do they have delicious treats, the proceeds support a good cause and they have an eco-friendly mission.

An eco-friendly mission and a sesame-banana muffin to die for.

The first time I tried the nutty little treat I was so impressed. It was dense without being difficult to eat and incredibly satisfying without leaving me feel like I just ate a sesame brick. I tried it on a lark, not thinking that I would like-like it, thinking only that I would be glad I tried it and never want it again. Holy wow was I wrong! It was love at first nibble. I would think about this muffin whenever I was jonesin’ for a good snack and it was part of my breakfast the day after my half marathon when I needed to re-energize.

Like most love affairs that develop quickly, I began to sense the flaws of my beloved muffin all too acutely after a short while. I couldn’t justify the purchase of a $4 muffin on a regular basis and its size made it difficult to justify the calories as my lack of restraint kept me from eating it in portions. So I set out to find a way to feed my craving with a smaller, homemade approximation of the original.

A quick google search lead me to a recipe for something similar on another food blog.  But I am not keen on all of the ingredients used in that version, so I adapted it to make my own.

Sesame Treats

What you’ll need:

3/4 cup or one 6 oz container of unsweetened, extra thick soy yogurt (plain regular or coconut milk yogurt is fine too)

1/3 cup agave nectar (honey is a fine substitute, or regular cane sugar but if you use sugar up the amount to 1/2 cup)

3 tsp egg replacer (or use 2 eggs and skip the water below)

4 Tbs warm water (to mix thoroughly with egg replacer)

2 bananas: 1 thoroughly mashed, 1 sliced into thin coins

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes Hot Cereal

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup toasted sesame seeds

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

3/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup low-fat milk or soy / rice milk

What to do:

Place sesame seeds on a parchment or foil-lined pan and toast in a 350-degree oven (it needs to pre-heat for baking the muffins, anyway) for about 5-8 minutes or until the seeds become fragrant. In the mean time, cream agave and yogurt with electric hand-mixer. Mix the water and egg replacer in a separate bowl and then add to the creamed mixture along with the mashed banana, vanilla and milk. In a separate bowl mix together flour, quinoa flakes, prepared sesame seeds, spices, baking soda and salt.

Add dry mix to the wet ingredients with a wooden spoon or durable rubber spatula until all of the ingredients are combined but not overly mixed. Fold in the remaining banana slices. The slices will melt and get a little candied during the baking process and will add an extra punch of bananaliciousness, Fill standard-sized muffin tins (that have been greased or lined) with a scant 1/4 cup of batter each. Bake muffins for 15-20 minutes in the pre-heated 350 degree F oven until toasty brown on the outside and the muffins pass the toothpick test!

yield: ~15 medium-sized muffins

So there you have it! Thanks to a ridiculous craving, the internet, a natural food store and a little creativity, I am able to satiate my love of this muffin without breaking the bank or the belt.

I can’t wait for breakfast tomorrow!

Enjoy!

About lishyskitchen

A regular gal attempting to balance career, life and love while on the path to wellness...

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Can you tell me how to get, how to get some sesame treats?

  1. I’m sorry, I’m giggling too hard at the heading to bother to bake the darned things. You’ll have to do it for me. 🙂

    Posted by Erica | June 2, 2010, 11:55 pm
  2. Those look amazing. I’m going to have to be keeping tabs on this from now on, seeing as Eric and I have re-vamped our vegetarian status again. Multivitamins are amazing for me, I’ll tell you what! Balance and B12, those are keys. 🙂

    Posted by Caitlin | June 3, 2010, 8:29 am
  3. Erica–Fair enough. Good thing I’ll be stopping by this weekend then, huh?

    Caitlin–Thanks! It has taken me a long time to learn about food and truly healthy vegetarian eating. I wish you and Eric luck! Let me know if you have any requests for particular ingredients and I’ll come up with something and post it!

    Posted by lishyskitchen | June 3, 2010, 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

